Meet the IPL’s Most Successful Teams

The start of the new year signals the imminent arrival of another season of the Indian Premier League. The 2024 campaign will commence on March 22nd, and 74 matches will be contested between ten franchises leading to the crowning of the ultimate champion at the start of June.

With the new season barely a month away, anticipation is soaring high, and Fanatics Sportsbook will be providing betting odds and offers on the competition that has made the Chennai Super Kings the early favorites for glory. The site runs promotions such as free bets and a loyalty scheme known as FanCash to returning customers, enhancing the opportunities for those in the US to get more involved in IPL betting.

The upcoming 2024 season is poised to be another step forward following a significant turning point in the league’s history. Last year was the first campaign under the terms of a new substantial TV agreement. In the summer of 2022, the broadcasting privileges for the seasons spanning from 2023 to 2027 were auctioned for $6.1 billion, propelling the league to the position of being the world’s second most financially rewarding after the NFL, surpassing even the English Premier League.

As such, there is more money than ever tied up in cricket’s number one attraction, and both players and franchises are set to earn more than ever before. But up until right now, which teams have had the most success in the illustrious tournament? Let’s take a look and explore the highly accomplished teams and the players who have been instrumental in their success.

Chennai Super Kings

The Chennai Super Kings stand as the current champions and the most successful squad in the IPL, clinching the title five times. Last year, they knocked off the reigning champion Gujrat Titans in dramatic fashion, triumphing by five wickets on the Duckworth-Lewis method after scoring ten runs off the last two balls. Kiwi Devon Conway was the star of the show, smashing 47 runs off just 25 balls to propel his side to victory, their second triumph in three seasons.

Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, the team has gained worldwide popularity. Over the course of their history, they’ve boasted outstanding players like Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, and Harbhajan Singh. With a tally of 117 victories and merely 77 losses, their win rate stands at a whopping 60%. They reached four straight finals between 2010 and 2013, winning the first two before losing the second two. They then had to wait until 2018 for their third crown, when they defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders in Dubai.

Their collection of five titles is particularly remarkable given that they faced exclusion from the competition in 2016 and 2017 due to a salary cap discrepancy. However, the Chennai Super Kings made a triumphant comeback in 2021, reclaiming the championship before rising to the top once again last term.

Meet the IPL's

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians also have five crowns to their name and are the joint most successful team. However, as a result of CSK reaching five more finals than their rivals, we consider them the most successful overall. Initially captained by the iconic Sachin Tendulkar, the Mubai Indians boasted a supporting lineup that included Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard, and they saw the franchise to two titles in as many years in 2013 and 2015.

Their latest triumph occurred in 2020, when the Mumbai Indians defeated the Delhi Capitals by five wickets in Dubai to claim their second straight crown and their third championship in a span of four years. They did fall down the rankings somewhat in recent years, finishing way down in 10th in 2022. But last term, the Mumbia Indians reached the semifinals once again and, this year, they will be aiming to go one better.

Kolkata Knight Riders

The Kolkata Knight Riders have established themselves as one of the most reliable franchises in the tournament, clinching the championship twice. Under the captaincy of the charismatic Dinesh Karthik, the squad has boasted remarkable talents such as Andre Russell and Sunil Narine, both of whom have claimed the coveted MVP award twice. There are only three players to have won multiple MVP awards, with Australian all-rounder Shane Watson being the third.

The Kolkata Knight Riders’ initial championship victory occurred more than ten years ago during the 2012 season, and they achieved the same success again in 2014. In the decade since, however, they have struggled and head into the 2024 season off the back of consecutive seventh-placed finishes.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button